• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Any Finale users switched to Sibelius?

Share/Bookmark

Any Finale users switched to Sibelius?

Hi All

I've been using Finale since 1989, have taught it and consider myself a power-user.

However, I've been taking a look at Sibelius 4, mainly for ease of use and dynamic parts.

I arrange hymns for a church wind ensemble for every Sunday. Often, I'm extracting and fixing parts as players are arriving. The ink on the parts is still wet when they get them! LOL

Question for those that have used both - should I consider the switch to Sibelius?

Thanks
    Ron Williams
    Westminster, CO

Re: Any Finale users switched to Sibelius?

Ron,

I have used Finale on several occasions. It has never agreed with my work style, so I may be slightly biased. The first time I used Sibelius I knew I found my notation program. It fit my way of doing things and increased my productivity. I became a power user on it in about a week. Since they have added video, sync points, time code, and dynamic parts it has only become more of a jewel in my eye.

One of my former teachers was a Finale power user and insisted it was THE only program for notation. She tried Sibelius recently and immediately purchased it. It is now her "go to" notation program. More film composers are using it as well. The dynamic parts help speed the process of changes that need to happen in sessions.

Both Finale and Sibelius have their strong points. They are both more than capable for any notation situation. I recommend downloading the trial version of Sibelius to see how you like it.

Derek

Quote Originally Posted by ChoralBoss
    Hi All

I've been using Finale since 1989, have taught it and consider myself a power-user.

However, I've been taking a look at Sibelius 4, mainly for ease of use and dynamic parts.