• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 14 123411 ... LastLast

Topic: To be an orchestra

Share/Bookmark

To be an orchestra

I've been hanging around Northern Sounds for a few days (sounds creepy!), looking at what various eminent people have to say about buying an Orchestral sampling library. I've also talked to people I know and respect, and have basically got myself informed.
    I'm wiser in that I know if a client wants a hollywood type score East West will impress them, and for realistic strings you need to layer some solo parts (perhaps from another library) etc etc,....but it's left me wondering what the hell I'm doing.
    I have no background or training in orchestration or arrangement. I've achieved so far by working within certain parameters, yet those needn't be limited, - I've found ways to create music with depth and emotion but have only ever wondered at how I might get an orchestra to perform the same feat.
    To learn how to do so would be massively time consuming, and then there are the midi hoops you have to jump through (like the time spent figuring why those strings don't work, only to discover velocity layer 80 didn't convert properly) and it's just one big turn off, and worse a creative cul-de-sac.

I also do wonder at the predilection of orchestral arrangement as dictated by fasion. Orchestral may be "in" so to speak, but should it mean we make bad music except for those of us who know how?

Re: To be an orchestra

I think a client could be just as impress by Sonic Implants, maby more?, i was just listening to the demos and i was very impress myself. i think that EW beeing ''the'' hollywood sound is a myth, i don't know where that comes from, a publicity stunt maby? And kurk hunter's stuff sound very Hollywood to me too, at a fraction of the price.

As for your question, i didn't really anderstand Sorry!

I believe the question is, do untrained composers make bad music in the ears of the trained?