• Register
  • Help

Topic: Lookin' to expand...

Share/Bookmark

Red face Lookin' to expand...

Yo!

So I have GPO. Buying it was a no-brainer, at the time - about a year ago. People said, "You're new? Get GPO." I was new, so I got GPO. No regrets. It's taught me so much... and I'm still learning. A fantastic little library.

But people started to take note of my hobby, and I started getting gigs. Tiny ones. But it's begun to pick up steam...

I think I need to expand. I'm not sure why, though - which is never a good reason to plunk down significant green on a new library.

But, for instance - I own Prominy's LPC and Bela D's LD. Not because I necessarily feel one is better than the other - but because I get different feelings from them, and I coax different emotions out of their sounds. They do two separate things for me, aurally.

I think I feel that way about GPO... and need to add to my palette. But I'm not sure where to go. GPO can do full symphonic stuff, sure... but its forte (no pun...) is really in smaller chamber stuff, I think. I have squeezed gigantic-sounding cues out of GPO, but it was hard and has led me to believe that GPO is not really a Hollywood lib. Which isn't a bad thing.

Of course, I might just be doing something wrong.

All the same, I kinda wanna pick up a complementary library. One that works well in conjunction with GPO, rather than as a replacement.

I've gotten used to the GPO workflow, however, and don't know what to expect as far as MIDI programming requirements, from another library...

But I guess I'm looking for a big sound that is easier to achieve than with GPO.

Also, a weird thing about me... I'm all for using different libraries to fill specific niches, and get them all co-existing alongside one another... but it bugs me when I only own part of a given company's library. I.e., taking just the winds, or just the percussion... I dunno. If all the sections are there, I wanna get 'em all!