• Register
  • Help

Topic: New member considering the purchase of my first VSTi Piano-Some questions please

Share/Bookmark

New member considering the purchase of my first VSTi Piano-Some questions please

This is my first post to this group. I'm hoping that this particular forum would be the place to ask. I'm fairly new to VSTi pianos since, until recently, I have had access to a Steinway Grand and a Yamaha C7 and the mics to get the job done. These instruments are in two separate places, neither of which is my studio and the situation has become increasingly difficult to deal with.

I am a studio owner/engineer, not a professional keyboardist. I need a piano here that I can use as both a real time, standalone instrument to record audio from one DAW to another and also to use as a VSTi to process midi data within Cubase SX 3x. I have an MAudio Prostation 88 controller but I am considering adding another one with fully weighted keys, perhaps a Fatar or PC88 controller.

I have been looking really hard for an *extremely realistic* VSTi piano now that I have the system to handle it (or at least I think I do). The only thing that might screw the pooch is the drive that I'm streaming samples *from*. Right now that's a 400 gig 7200RPM Seagate Barracuda ATA 133 drive. Seems fast enough when I'm streaming samples from BFD. I'm able to work at 64k buffers with ease using BFD. I want to be able to work at 64k buffers if possible with a piano in standalone mode if this is to be used for tracking directly to an audio recorder (I have a separate workstation that is *audio only* and in this scenario, I would be tracking directly from the DAW hosting the piano, to the DAW hosting the audio program). I suppose I could live with 128-256k, but my session players are pretty picky about this, and this is certainly understandable. I'm a guitrist and I hate the latency that is induced by using modellers like the POD......anyway.....to return to the subject....