• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Worra - Loading Time for Black Grand in Kontakt 1?

Share/Bookmark

Worra - Loading Time for Black Grand in Kontakt 1?

Worra:

Black Grand is my "go to" piano in terms of sound - it's perfect in every way for what I do and I absolutely love it. But it takes about 2-3 minutes to load Black Grand into Kontakt (I use Kontakt 1). Is that normal? I mean, loading Vintaudio C7 or Artvista Malmsjo take much less time. Is that simply because Black Grand is a bigger library by size? Or am I doing something wrong in Kontakt?

Also, once I load Black Grand I cannot load say the Vintaudio C7 as another instrument in Kontakt - it tells me I don't have enough memory - I assume it's because I don't have enough "juice" in my PC? I'm using PIV 3Ghz with 1gig RAM (not much I know!)

If I'm having such problems with Black Grand I know I'm not even going to bother looking at something like TBO!

Sorry for the stupidity of these questions - I'm not a pro at this stuff!

Cheers

Re: Worra - Loading Time for Black Grand in Kontakt 1?

Hey Len, since you are using DFD it all depends on the number of samples the library has (Because in DFD only the start of the sample gets cached)

You could try lowering your DFD settings and your buffer sizes per sample. That will give you much faster loading times but you might have some problems in sustaining notes or large polyphonies (cut notes).

How much ram do you have?

What speed hard drive do you have? 7200 rpm?
    Theo Krueger - Composer

www.TheoKrueger.com

Kontakt 2 Scripts

Oh sorry. I just saw you have 1gb of ram. Updating to 2 GB is a great idea whenever you get the Chance.

2.5 GB is even better since you can use 2 gb per single application on XP (kontakt for example) and use the other 500mb for the smooth functioning of your system
    Theo Krueger - Composer

www.TheoKrueger.com

Kontakt 2 Scripts