• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Computers on gigs

Share/Bookmark

Question Computers on gigs

With all the things you can do on a computer these days, is seems like it would be a great resource. However, given how flaky they can be, I shudder at the thought of trusting them on a gig.

Any of you actually using computers in performances?
    Christopher Duncan
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Author of
    Unite the Tribes and The Career Programmer
    www.PracticalUSA.com

Re: Computers on gigs

The most stable and dependable computer I used at a gig was a Commodore 64 back in the 80's. Amazing considering I wrote the software.

You know - I've been DJ'ing weddings, etc for 22 years now (I know - but I'm a musician too and needed to earn bucks!). Last year I switched over to all computer and LOVE it. I know, Chris, this is not exaclty what you're asking, but the software, USB, and audio connections have been perfect and COMPLETELY TROUBLE free! It's made my life easier and no longer have to carry my dozen or so boxes of music.

Regards,

Tim

Sort of... I use an MP3 player on my Pocket PC to cue backing tracks for gigs. Works great.
    www.EricHermanMusic.com
    - Cool Tunes for Kids -

Quote Originally Posted by tcohen
    You know - I've been DJ'ing weddings, etc for 22 years now (I know - but I'm a musician too and needed to earn bucks!). Last year I switched over to all computer and LOVE it. I know, Chris, this is not exaclty what you're asking, but the software, USB, and audio connections have been perfect and COMPLETELY TROUBLE free! It's made my life easier and no longer have to carry my dozen or so boxes of music.

Regards,

Tim
    Actually that's exactly the kind of thing I was asking - it's encouraging to know that they're working well in the Real World!
    Christopher Duncan
    Author of
    www.PracticalUSA.com