• Register
  • Help

Topic: LPC guitar - got it - now what?

Share/Bookmark

LPC guitar - got it - now what?

Ok, I just got this huge library, and quite frankly I have no clue where to start. I guess this is what some people feel when looking at the articulations available for VSL...

Ok, first of all. The legato patches, what are they called? Secondly, do any of you have some tips on what the essential articulations are, what I need to check out? In general just some tips on how to approach this monster.

Thanks

Re: LPC guitar - got it - now what?

Hi Marcussen,
    yours is the same reaction I had after having installed the DVDs and looked at the incredible number of articulations of this huge library...I'm still studying it nowadays, so I can be of modest help.

But, a very quick start I'd suggest is: in the "Basic Set" folder you'll find a program called "Player's instrument". It's the "bread and butter" program to try via keyswitching the most used articulations.

After that, you'll want to dig deeper into LPC and you'll soon discover the "optimized" programs. These are simplified versions of the full programs (which have been sampled note by note on each string, with individual strings accessible by keyswitching, and which I don't understand fully how to handle), and are playable like you'd play a sampled guitar patch on a synth.

There are also the new 5th dyad chords programs (which you'll find in the update pack downloadable from the LPC site) with palm mutes that respond to velocity and are very fun to play. Then you'll soon realize that for many programs you'll need an expression pedal to trigger the up/down strokes...

But we're just scratching the surface here. I really hope Akihito will release some tutorials (with midi files) to help us realize the full potential of this astounding library.

My 2 cents
    Claudio Tassitano
    Samplemodeling.com webmaster
    --
    http://www.soundwavers.com