• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: The PAN Network--any opinions?

Share/Bookmark

The PAN Network--any opinions?

I've given final approval to the artwork on my first CD, and it is on its way to the factory floor even as we speak!

I'm turning my attention now to promoting and selling it. Recently I followed a link to the PAN network, which looks like an interesting resource. As I understand it, for a monthly fee of $15, they'll host your CD online making it possible to sell it as a download.

OK, I know, I'm new at this, so I'm asking for opinions. Does anyone have experience with this sort of thing? Is it something I should consider joining? Are there other similar services out there?

Thanks for your input.
    Dan Powers
    www.danielpowers.info

"It's easier to be a composer than it is to compose."
    --Ray Luke (1928-2010)

Re: The PAN Network--any opinions?

If all you want is a storefront then I'd also check out CDBaby. I haven't used them but a lot of people I know have. I don't think there's a monthly fee.

Ernie

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

I think CD Baby has a similar thing...

Hey, do you happen to know my friend Jimmy Finnie? I noticed you're in Terra Haute. He's the percussion chair at the university there, I believe.

Hey, Bruce, what a small world! Jimmy is a good friend of mine. Last year, he, my wife Martha, and I performed a trio by Lou Harrison ("Varied Trio" for violin, piano, and percussion) here in Terre Haute and had a great time. We've found a couple of other pieces for that combination and we've talked about doing a recital (but who knows if we actually will?)

He and Martha, along with another friend, Paul Bro, commissioned a piece from me a few years ago, "Peel Out" for alto sax, percussion, and piano, and gave it several performances, including one at the World Saxophone Congress in Montreal. That was a fun trip. I may try to include it on a future CD.