• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Licensing / Copyright Question

Share/Bookmark

Licensing / Copyright Question

Hi all

I've been lurking this site for a year or so now, so I feel like I know some of you a little, even though you don't know me.... I'm a shy poster...! But, no more - I step out of the shadows....!

My company publishes and licenses new and existing music for commercial release, sync, premiums etc. I'm a composer too and write for tv / film etc. However, in the last couple of days I got a commission for a game. (Hurrah!) Not much money, but a reasonable start anyway...

Here's the question - licensing music / exploiting copyrights / publishing is my game - but I'm currently a little confused as to one aspect of this, within the Game field. As there is not much money, I have agreed a non-exclusive license (which will help me recoup the costs by my licensing elsewhere). But what about the musical copyright (publishing element)? Do composers usually sign over 100% of the musical copyright too? In the world of the Music CD (commercial release) that would be frowned upon - I presume it is different with Games? Are there never any mechanical royalties?

I could go on, with some follow up questions to this, but I'll let you get stuck into his one first....

Appreciate your time. I look forward to being more conversive, now that I've registered....

Cheers
    Pete

- Perfectspace -
    Music Licensing, Publishing & Production

Re: Licensing / Copyright Question

Hi, copyright is almost always signed over in games. Usually, the only chance you might have of keeping your copyright is if you deal directly with the publisher.

Developers dont have the power to let you keep your copyright in all the cases Ive dealt with them.

One loophole is to try and keep rights for a game soundtrack in the event that one might ever be done.
    ---------------------------
    - SCA - Sound Studios -
    www.sca-soundstudios.com