• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: RMX for acoustic work

Share/Bookmark

RMX for acoustic work

I'm pretty new with RMX (one week) and I'm struggling a bit finding a routine that is not overpowering for my work. I primarily do acoustic guitar/vocal recordings using Garritan for backdrop instrumentation, and keeping the mix clean is very important to me. What are some good combinations that will not be overdriven for this more contemplative space?

Any ideas would be very helpful. Though I think that RMX is very interesting and powerful, I don't want to completely change genres to use it :-)

Thanks

Bob M

Re: RMX for acoustic work

Hi Bob,

Look into the SAGE expanders that are available. Liquid Grooves would definitely fit nicely into the acoustic genre.

Also, if you get Recycle, you can make your own REX files and have them available in RMX as well. Loop CD's like Brush Artistry come to mind.

Also, look into the percussion loops in RMX. There's tons of Shakers, Congas, Bongos, Dbjembe's, etc, that would easily fit an acoustic type track quite nicely.

And don't underestimate what extra filtering can do to some of the bigger "re-mix" type loops. You could very easily get something very unique sounding going on, that wouldn't over power acoustic instruments, but would add a cool dimension to the track, without sounding overly electronic.

Thnx Jaimo,

Could you tell me a little more about the idea of filtering the bigger loops?

Sure,

Just experiment and let your imagination guide you.

Try putting one of the filter FX on a loop that has a feel that you like, and mess around with it. Load the pre-sets, and see what those do.
    Also, try loading some FX racks to. You'll be amazed at how much the texture and sound of a loop can be transformed simply by those.

If you're unclear on how to do any of that, watch the FX tutorial. It'll shed some light.