• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Virtual Instruments and Gigastudio

Share/Bookmark

Virtual Instruments and Gigastudio

Hi folks. I'm still a recent newbie with Giga so please be gentle :-)

ok, so I have Gigstudio 3 and Sonar 4 PE. I actually plan on using Giga for live playing and when I do that I was not planning on using Sonar for anything.

Now I see that there are some really interesting virtual instruments out there. I think I know that Giga doesn't support them. So my question is: what is the best way for me to use virtual instruments along with Giga on the same machine for live playing? Is it to run the virtual instruments stand alone when possible? Should I have Sonar up and running to support the virtual instuments? Is there another stand alone product that would be perfect for what I'm describing?

Thanks all ...... I love this forum ......... Rob

Re: Virtual Instruments and Gigastudio

If your setup is simple (ie you don't need to change programs, splits, layers and settings live) then Steinberg V-Stack would do the job.

A very powerful VST host with rewire support (for GS) is Brainspawn Forte Ensemble (www.brainspawn.com) - you can have a series of "scenes", all with their own MIDI and audio routing, and VSTi settings.

M

Edit: be a bit careful though, GS doesn't like playing with other toys very much... it can be done, but is not the most stable setup. I would use Kontakt live over GS, although I prefer GS as a sampler...

Thanks for the response. I would be real interested in other people's opinions of a few things. I know that this is a real mixed bag of questions but I didn't think it would be better to start 4 or 5 different threads. If you disagree, let me know.

1. Do you think Gigastudio 3 or Kontakt 2 would be better specifically for live gigging?

2. What midi keyboard controller do you use?