• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Film/TV Work Using a PC?

Share/Bookmark

Film/TV Work Using a PC?

Hi -

I'm a newbie here, so sorry if I'm not posting in the right place...

I'm thinking about trying to get into film/tv scoring, and I'm wondering what the situation is for a someone with only PC equipment. Is anyone doing serious scoring without a Mac? Is it a huge hassle or even possible to send out files in anything besides ProTools? Does anyone accept anything else? I don't really know much at all about this end of the business and I'm thinking about upgrading one of my systems, but I want to keep an eye towards the future. I have no desire to have to get into Mac/ProTools because of the high cost of hardware/plugins, plus I'm a real PC geek, but if it's impossible to get serious and interface with post-production houses without Mac/ProTools I need to think about it.

Any opinions/experiences are much appreciated.

Thanks!

buzz

Re: Film/TV Work Using a PC?

There are people who still use protools out there?

It's about 50% PC and about 50% mac people these days.

I use to use mac and send out Aiff files now I use PC and send out OMF files.

I actually have been and probably forever will be afraid of Protools. But M-audio has protools for PC now that will easily port over into any MAC protools system

Ars

Quote Originally Posted by jc5
    There are people who still use protools out there?
    I just finished up a session in a studio where the guy running it has been doing tv work for 20 or so years.

He's tracking/recording etc, through a Fairlight.

He paid $60,000 for it so needs to get his monies worth I guess.
    ---------------------------
    - SCA - Sound Studios -
    www.sca-soundstudios.com
    ---------------------------