• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Getting to sound "real" like the demos

Share/Bookmark

Getting to sound "real" like the demos

Hey guys.. new to the forums here. I use Sibelius to write and playback my songs with Garritan as my samples. The problem is that it doesn't sound as real as the demos I hear at this website.. any tips on that?

Re: Getting to sound "real" like the demos

Quote Originally Posted by Mikel33
    Hey guys.. new to the forums here. I use Sibelius to write and playback my songs with Garritan as my samples. The problem is that it doesn't sound as real as the demos I hear at this website.. any tips on that?
    I'm no expert but here's a starting set of quick tips most of which are nothing more than common sense:
    1) make sure you are using plenty of mod wheel on every instrument and use it appropriately for the piece/phrase
    2) learn to use the other expression controls as appropriate for each instrument - timbre, pitch, vibrato, etc to add realistic nuances particularly, but not exclusively, to solo instruments
    3) try to make each instruments part realistic for that instrument - flutes can't sustain indefinitely, harpsichords can't do rips, pianists only have 8 fingers (and two thumbs) etc.
    4) definitely score strings as 4-5 (or more) monophonic parts rather than a block chord played with a generic string patch
    5) ditto with brass 'chords'
    6) don't be afraid to eq individual instruments to get them to fit together better than GPO out of the box
    7) use a decent reverb and plenty of it (if you a/b real orchestral recording with your own, you will always be amazed at how wet the real one is)
    8) use different reverbs/different amounts for different instruments - eg more for the backline (percussion, harp, horns, trumpets, tubas, trombones) to more closely resemble the concert hall effect
    9) read the tutorials on each instrument on Gary's website and implement all the tips