• Register
  • Help

Topic: How to make orchestral music

Share/Bookmark

How to make orchestral music

Two quick questions:

1) If I want to learn how to write orchestral music, is it necessary for me to understand how to read notes?

2) If yes, is there one book or paper out there which is generally recognized as being *the* book for learning it?

I've been making music with Logic/EXS for a few years, and am now interested in learning how to write orchestral music.

After concluding I was unable to afford both EWWLSO Gold and VSL Opus 1, which are generally recommended as being good starter libraries, I was lucky enough to bump into Kirk Hunter's homepage, where I just ordered the 25 GB Emerald library last week. Those who have already received their copy of the library seem to agree it's a good meat-and-potatoes library, exactly as Kirk Hunter describes it himself. Therefore I expect it will be useful for me as a starting point, and that I do not have to worry so much about getting further software, at least to begin with.

But of course, software is not all you need in order to write orchestral music! You also need to know what to do with it.

In various threads I have seen people recommend books such as these:

*) Walter Piston: Counterpoint
    *) Walter Piston: Orchestration
    *) Kent Kennan: Counterpoint
    *) Alan Belkin: Various papers from his homepage

I have peeked into the first three, but all of them contain examples with notes, and I do not know how to read notes. Hence the two questions above. Also, the first of Belkin's four pdf-papers contain references to classical music of which I have none, so it's not very useful for me. I have not looked at his other papers yet, but I assume they will also contain examples in notes.