• Register
  • Help

Topic: pops/pauses vs latency- Soundcard issues?

Share/Bookmark

Question pops/pauses vs latency- Soundcard issues?

Let me first say that I’m very excited to have this wonderful program and that I’m sure it will exceed my expectations, I’m also anticipating very greatly to hear others works and to submit my own, as I only do this as a hobby. I’m a university student and have always enjoyed composing, and I couldn’t pass up this program for the price!

Anyways, I’m pretty much new to this experience, although I have had some experience with Cubase Vst v4.0. My main question is:

When I try to play a piece I’ve written with as little as 4 instruments, there seems to be pauses/ cracks that occur, and instruments cease to play at all for seconds or more. My soundcard is a Realtek AC97 audio, and I’m wondering if this may be the culprit, as my System includes a 2.6 Ghz processor and I have 1 Gb of Ram. I’m not too sure of the quality of this soundcard system, but I’m pretty sure its not that great, as it came with my computer system. Also, I am experiencing some latency with my instruments, and am wondering if the soundcard could be to blame as well, or if its just a case of my ASIO drivers.

There’s no possible way I can listen to a full orchestra if Cubase can’t even play 4 instruments together, so any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

Re: pops/pauses vs latency- Soundcard issues?

I'm having very similar experiences as well. You will record a song, with several different parts, and sometimes it can take as long as 20-30 seconds before all of the parts suddenly "come in". As for latency, I also await a reply on my topic.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Fels
    You will record a song, with several different parts, and sometimes it can take as long as 20-30 seconds before all of the parts suddenly "come in".