• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: How to write for harp?

Share/Bookmark

How to write for harp?

I'm working on a piece for harp and strings, and will feature harp in other pieces in a long orchestral work. I am a veteran plucker (guitar, mandolin, 5-str banjo, Alpine zither) but never sat down at a big harp. So all I know is what I read in the standard instrumentation/orchestration books (Forsythe and Berlioz tell quite a bit, Kennan somewhat less). My harp part is pretty complex and I am doubtless writing things that are unplayable. I must say that the GPO harpist does a smashing job with this part.

What are recommendable sources on harp technique that will tell me what I can do and what I can't?

Also -- is there any source that suggests what kinds of writing will require a second harp? The part is all on one instrument now, but I think that two harps will probably be a good idea for technical and other reasons (volume) so I'm not at all averse to rescoring for a pair of pluckers.

Which pieces for two harps should I look at to see what good scoring for a pair of harps looks like?

Re: How to write for harp?

The orchestration books give you a lot of what you need to know and I'm sure your background with other stringed instruments helps a lot too. If you close your eyes and imagine your hands moving over the strings you can probably catch most of the impossible stuff.

The big thing (obviously) is pedal settings. If the pedal is set for C#, then you can't write a C-natural unless you use a B# or give the player time to switch back to C-natural. Harp music is very heavy on enharmonics, both for nice glissando effects and solving practical problems.

I would recommend checking out as many scores as possible, esp. Ravel and Debussy. Even better, go find a harp player and ask questions!

Hi Doug,

You might also find this tutorial useful.

Harp Tutorial

Good luck,

Karl