• Register
  • Help

Topic: Advice needed

Share/Bookmark
    Mayor

Advice needed

Could anyone point me in the direction of any (preferably web-based) articles/info on how to use more than one computer for music creation/ production? I've done a search on these forums but nothing has come back with the info I really need. I currently have a P4 3.0Ghz machine with a Delta 44 card running GPO, GOS via GigaStudio Orchestra, various VSTs including Moog Modular V, Sonar 4 PE and Overture 4. In the near future I'd like to add Symphonic Choirs or similar. Things work reasonably well at the moment though I guess the system's groaning if I try to run too many things at a time.
    I have an 2nd old machine which I'm about to revamp with a new mobo, cpu and RAM, and I need know what to go for.
    My wallet isn't bottomless so I can't say I can do this at any cost, but I'd be very grateful if someone could point me to a source of advice - or even give it here. I'm far from a computing expert so it needs to be at a level that I can understand! For example, I don't know whether a second computer would require a second monitor, or whether there's a way of managing with one, and although I've heard of FX teleport I don't know how it works or whether there are alternatives to it.
    I'm not sure whether to go for say an Athlon 64 with the x64 OS with an eye to the future (I'm not upgrading to Sonar 5 yet but I may well wish to sooner or later).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, particularly in simple language, but which covers all the angles and gear that I'd need.
    Many thanks,
    John

Mayor

Post Re: Advice needed

Before the stampede to reply to this
    Crisis over - Tascam came to the rescue with a cheaper alternative!

Re: Advice needed

Quote Originally Posted by mistersynth
    Before the stampede to reply to this
    Crisis over - Tascam came to the rescue with a cheaper alternative!