• Register
  • Help

Topic: Overture: Setting up a new custom score

Share/Bookmark

Overture: Setting up a new custom score

I am a newbie. I have been searching the forum without success to find out how to set up a new score using Overture. If a template isn't what I want, how do I set up a custom new score? I am used to how Finale works.

Re: Overture: Setting up a new custom score

Quote Originally Posted by docdestructo62
    I am a newbie. I have been searching the forum without success to find out how to set up a new score using Overture. If a template isn't what I want, how do I set up a custom new score? I am used to how Finale works.
    3.6.1?? Or do you own the INCREDIBLE new Overture 4 with FULL VST HOSTING?

Hi...SCORE>INSERT TRACK to add staves.
    SCORE>SETUP TRACK to define staff attributes, instrument info, etc
    Staff Tool to set barlines through groups, left-side brackets, etc.
    TRACKS WINDOW to set patches
    SCORE>RESPACE STAVES to fine tune vertical spacings (can also be done by hand)

I am now "divorced" from Finale after a tempestuous 15-year relationship after using Overture 3.6.1 and the INCREDIBLE new Overture 4 with FULL VST HOSTING

That oughta git ya started

Jim
    Jim Williams
    Professor of Capitalism
    N9EJR
    Indianapolis Brass Choir
    All Your Bass Sus&Short Are Belong to Us.

You might find it easier to take an existing template and add or delete staves/instruments to fit your requirements. You can then save that file into the templates folder in Overture for future use.

I'm assuming you're using Overture 4, but if not I would guess the procedure wouldn't be too different.