• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Grieg - Aase's Death. An attempt at ensemble building.

Share/Bookmark

Grieg - Aase's Death. An attempt at ensemble building.

Hi all,

My first post here. I got GPO in the recent group buy, but it is only after I got my new computer a couple of weeks ago that I have tried to get serious with GPO. I decided to start out with a simple but well known string orchestra work by Grieg. I am not a trained musician, so I figured this would be the best way to get a feel for the orchestra, before trying to compose my own works.

My first attempt used string sections mixed with a couple of solo instruments, but I could not achieve the variation I desired. Another downside was that e.g. the cello part at some point is split in divisi by 3, resulting in 27 cellos playing. So I am now experimenting with ensemble building. I have read the various tutorials and posts on this forum concerning ensemble building, and knew there could be problems with phasing etc.

The link below is where I am at currently. It is using 12+8 violins, 8 violas, 9 cellos, and a dbl bass section + 3 dbl basses. All are sent through the Ambience reverb. I have tried various constellations of the solo violin player instruments, adjusting the var1/2 settings, time shifting the individual violins and applying randomness to the note timing and velocity with my sequencer. I am finding it hard to make the piece 'breathe' and the violins are a bit 'shrill' at the strong passages. Anybody have any ideas on how to improve on this?

Link: I could not add the link myself, probably because this is my first post on the forum. Hopefully Gary will add it to the next post

Cheers,
    Frits Nielsen

Re: Grieg - Aase's Death. An attempt at ensemble building.

Quote Originally Posted by Zynewave
    Link: I could not add the link myself, probably because this is my first post on the forum. Hopefully Gary will add it to the next post
    Frits,