• Register
  • Help

Topic: What is your soundcard/preamp/mixer equipment?

Share/Bookmark

What is your soundcard/preamp/mixer equipment?

Just wondering - my GPO sounds are chincy right now - most likely due to the fact that I am just learning GPO.

What are some of your setups? Mine setup:
    1. Sonar Producer 4
    2. M-Audiio Audiophile 24/96 card
    3. M-Audio AudioBuddy preamp
    4. Intel 2.8 with 1.5 gb ram

I would think I would be able to get decent sounds here but....

Some of you folks are putting out some great sounds and I know that a lot has to do with you being able to work GPO well. I want to rule out my equipment as being part of my problem. If some of you who are doing good stuff have similar equipment and getting much better sounds then I know I need to focus on GPO and Sonar and not the hardware side.

Plus I'm getting too much clipping and distortion in my Master and effects tracks. I just need some work here . A bit frustrating but slowly progressing.

I'm working through the Sonar tutorial and it is helping - The tutorial is teaching me how to use effects on individual tracks by creating more DXI's, etc.
    Just need time and patience.

Thanks and God bless

Re: What is your soundcard/preamp/mixer equipment?

Nothing wrong with your gear, you won't even be using the preamp w/ GPO. The M-Audio cards sound great. I rely on a Delta 1010lt on my stay-at-home GPO machine, and it's great. It's basically the 8 in/8 out version of what you have.