• Register
  • Help

Topic: gigastudio 3 sonar 3

Share/Bookmark

gigastudio 3 sonar 3

I need help. I just bought Sonar 3 and I am having trouble configuring it with Gigastudio 3.0. Could someone please tell me what the midi inputs and outputs should be? I have tried every combination that makes sense to me and can't get it working. I am new to Sonar and the manual does not talk specifically about setting it up for use with Gigastudio.

THanks for your help,

Mike

Re: gigastudio 3 sonar 3

It's fairly simple. In Sonar's track view, set a track's output (port) to "1-GigaOut: Port1/Control". Load a Giga instrument into channel 1 of Port 1, and that Sonar track should be able to play the Giga instrument.

That's the quick/dirty approach. Here's the full deal:

1) In Giga press "F3", open the "hardware" tab, and set your hardware MIDI port that you have connected to your keyboard as the entry for "MIDI-In Port 1". Click "OK". Now, when you just power up Giga, you can play it with your keyboard directly.

2) In Giga press "F2", and open the "general" tab. Click the "..." icon next to "sequencer". Browse to Sonar's path. For me it's something like C:\Program Files\Cakewalk\Sonar3 Studio Edition\Sonarstd.exe. Now, when you click the "sequencer" button at the top of Giga, it will launch Sonar, and shut off your keyboard input. (You can also manually launch Sonar, and manually turn off the keyboard input by clicking the mini keyboard icon in GS3's lower right corner. When blinking, the keyboard will not feed Giga.)

3) Well, I've already covered step 3 in the first paragraph. Just point your Sonar tracks at GS3's ports.

Best of luck!

-JF

Quote Originally Posted by JonFairhurst
    It's fairly simple. In Sonar's track view, set a track's output (port) to "1-GigaOut: Port1/Control". Load a Giga instrument into channel 1 of Port 1, and that Sonar track should be able to play the Giga instrument.

That's the quick/dirty approach. Here's the full deal: