• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: My first GPO piece =P!

Share/Bookmark

My first GPO piece =P!

Hello, everyone! This is my first attempt composing a piece with GPO, so please bare with me...

OK... since I can't really think of a creative name for my piece, it'll temporarily be named "Introduction and Largo" as of now (unless some of ya'll can give any uh... suggestions for a name?)... I used some harp work, strings, a flute, and some other various percussion...

And please (without being too harsh) critique my piece. This is my first time using GPO, and it'll be nice to have some tips, suggestion, or what not, to improve and such...

Thanks =P

http://cata.dmusic.com/

-Cata

Re: My first GPO piece =P!

Cataclysm,
    Congratulations on your first GPO piece WOOT!

You have alot of great ideas.
    Something that will really make a huge difference is to go into each and every midi track, one at a time and listen as if you are spying in on one microphone in the orchestra (solo mode). Do whatever it takes to make it sound as real as possible. If I may, here are a few ideas for some technical issues with your presentation.... I hope you are using a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) of some kind, otherwise, getting very close to a realistic representation is hard to do with just notation. IMO

In some areas, some of the strings are pumping in volume on the attacks. Alot of the times, this is because the notes' velocity (attack volume) is just too high, or the notes are overlapped too much in the midi track, or both. To get a real nice legato string sound, many of us choose to overlap the notes so that the end of the previous note lingers ever so slightly into the next note. Make sure it is just a small amount. The only way to know just how much, is to experiment.