• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Musical Forms

Share/Bookmark

Musical Forms

OK. So there's sonata form and fugue form. What others are there?

I know, I know. I'm being too technical and everyone's gonna tell me to just write what I feel and all that. I happen to be going through a stage when I REALLY like the classical style, so I'm trying to learn about all the forms.

I started playing with sonata form and found it to be very useful for expanding two themes into a complete and entertaining work. As far as I know, that's the only way I know how to expand on a theme. How do you take a theme and create a whole piece from it? I've been playing SO much with that stupid orch duel 1 theme I've pretty much teared it to pieces and still can't get a decent work out of it. I've tried fugueing it, sonataing it, concertoizing it...EVERYTHING I TELL YOU!!! It's hard.

I also notice that the sonata form doesn't really have a climax anywhere in it. The recap is usually more bold than the exposition, but I don't know if you could really call it a climax. Is there a seperate 'climatic' form of music?

So what other classical musical forms are out there?

-Chris

Re: Musical Forms

Some other musical forms include:

binary (AABB)
    ternary (ABA) (AABA) (AABABA)
    march form (with added trio)
    compound ternary (scherzos, minuets, da capo arias) or minuet and trio
    rondo (ABACADAEA...) ((ABACAB'A)
    arch (ABCDCBA)
    passacaglia and chaconnes (ostinato or repeated harmonic progression)
    theme and variations
    free variation

Smile Re: Musical Forms

Cptexas,

not all themes are born equal so some themes aren't good canditates for good fugue work. Well except in hands of experts like Bach. But good themes for fugue stay as much around tonic/dominant as possible, it can of course be chromatic but it still has some tonic/dominant feeling to it.