• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Notation software for EWQLSO Gold

Share/Bookmark

Notation software for EWQLSO Gold

Greetings,
    I've just purchased EWQLSO Gold and would like some opinions on which notation softwares work well with it. Since I'm just starting out notating I would like to get something inexpensive. On the other hand I want to take advantage of notating various articulations too since I have aspirations of eventually writing for live ensembles.

Any ideas? Will EWQLSO Gold respond to any of the notated articulations in any of the software packages?

Thanks for your response... Great forum!

Marty

Re: Notation software for EWQLSO Gold

Check out the upcoming Overture 4 at the Geniesoft site. It will feature full VST hosting so you should be able to run Gold as a plugin without having to use virtual MIDI cables or other workarounds.

Finale 2006 states that they too have VST hosting but I haven't used it and there have been some posts from people saying it's got some bugs.

i'm using cubase sx 2.2.

i think cakewalk sonar is kind of popular too but i've never tried it.

Yes, I have used cakewalk for many years (even when it was dos). It has a competent score utility, but it does not reflect dynamics and articulations. Also each track has it's own staff whether you like it or not... er... I think.

Quote Originally Posted by mdorren
    Yes, I have used cakewalk for many years (even when it was dos). It has a competent score utility, but it does not reflect dynamics and articulations. Also each track has it's own staff whether you like it or not... er... I think.
    cakewalk does work with articulations doesn't it?

I believe he's asked specifically about notation software.