• Register
  • Help

Topic: need help with Ambience in Cubase LE in OSX

Share/Bookmark

need help with Ambience in Cubase LE in OSX

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to GPO (and MIDI in general), and am working on my first project with GPO. I'm using some string sounds, in Cubase LE on OSX 10.3.9 (LE is similar to Cubase SE-- it came bundled with my Presonus Firewire Audio interface).

I copied the "Ambience" component file to the exact folder where the documentation says to copy it.

(Library-audio-plug-ins-components -- in the same place where the "Personal Orchestra" component), but Ambience does not show up in Cubase as a VST effect.

I haven't seen others posting a similar problem, so I'm assuming I am missing something here. I have searched through my hard drive and have found at least 3 different folders that look like "VST" "Plug-ins" "components" etc. etc. all my other VST stuff (including GPO) had an installer that did this stuff automatically.

So I guess my question is, where exactly am I supposed to copy files to in order for it to show up in Cubase as a VST Effect? and is it just the component file, or do I need to copy the file that is just called "Ambience" and has an icon? Do I need to do it in multiples places?

Thanks everyone.

Re: need help with Ambience in Cubase LE in OSX

It is "Garritan Ambience.dll" you need to place and it does not have an icon. If the icon file is a .exe file, it would be the installer (I can't remember how I installed it). Run it and it will install into the GPO\Studio\VSTplugins folder, from where you copy the .dll to the Cubase\VSTplugins folder (assuming the folder structure is similar to that of Cubasis VST 4).

Sorry, I just now see that you're on the Mac side of the fence, so the folder structure may be different than on a PC.
    Last edited by Nickie Fønshauge; 08-15-2005 at 05:31 PM. Reason: Mac vs PC

Quote Originally Posted by Nickie Fønshauge