• Register
  • Help

Topic: Korg Triton Studio vs. Roland Fantom-X8

Share/Bookmark

Korg Triton Studio vs. Roland Fantom-X8

Korg Triton Studio vs. Roland Fantom-X8

Im having trouble deciding which offers more... In my opinion the Fantom seems to have better and more realistic sounds and samples but then again i have no experience in Keyboard workstations but Im facinated by them and will want to buy one in the future.

Also, a question on the side. Will the Triton Rack Module work with a Roland keyboard and vice verca - will a Roland Rack module work the a triton keyboard??? You can use anything with a midi signal to control the rack correct?

Re: Korg Triton Studio vs. Roland Fantom-X8

Have you looked at the Yamaha Motif ES8? To me it has the best sound and feel vs Korg and Roland, and its arpeggiator is far more advanced then the others. Where it lacks is in its GUI and learning curve, but once you learn your way around it its very powerful.

Another thing to think about is that the Roland and Korg workstations don't have real mod wheels, they have that horrible little joystick where you move it left and right for pitch bend and push it up a little for modulation, so if you're going to use it to control software samples that use the mod wheel (a lot of libraries do) then you're going to have to have an external controller. I never investigated it far enough to find out if you can assign mod to one of the sliders on the Roland or Korg.. but if that's the case then why not just put the wheel there?

I prefer the synth sounds from Roland but the keyboard of the Motif ES8 is more quiet than the Fantom-X8.

I'm a hardcore Korg diehard. I just love my Triton Studio to death. Every day I learn something new about it that just blows me away. If I had the money I'd get a Korg Oasys but for now, having just spent $4k on a new DAW, I'll have to stick with the Triton Studio.

Mixednuts (aka Rob)