• Register
  • Help

Topic: Moving from Ultimate to sublime

Share/Bookmark

Moving from Ultimate to sublime

I have been lurking waiting for symphony discussion on the road to a dream -- more formal and less rigidly structured.

First, let me say I am no musician beyond early vocal training. My keyboard skills are nill and my classical guitar and folk music performances of the 1960's best remain hidden.

About 15 years ago, however, as an opera affacianado (my voice training got me there some 50 years ago) I felt that since Boito, Puccini and Verdi (Ok - maybe Gershwin), no great opera has come from the USA even though "musical theater," in its hey-day often approached this level of work.

I do not consider "Trouble in Tahiti" GREAT...nor "Amahl & The Night Visitors." My opinion is that the former rode on Bernstein's commercial New York successes more than great music, and Amahl was made popular because of its "non-commercial," but actually very commercial religious/seasonal appeal and the infancy of TV.

Movie scores have come close in grandeur -- and the development of the virtual orchestra I am sure has been driven by the economic needs of Hollywood needing fatter sounbd from fewer paid musicians.

Today US Opera is in a state of economic desolation. In some ways is is in a musical desolation too.

So let me posit this: Can we orchestrate for LIVE singer/actors as needed in true opera -- and run the instrumentation for performance virtually?

When I started the on idea 15 or so years ago -- the midi/Synth/Sampler set up was becoming cumbersome and exceptionally expensive. Today we seem to be on the road around that.

Imagine this -- a Junior College in Podunk or Padua wants to stage an opera with great budding voices -- but does not have an affordable orchestra -- but does have computer and amplification (with fidelity) power.