• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Question for composers: Dynamics Notation

Share/Bookmark

Question for composers: Dynamics Notation

Hello fellow composers. This is a question for all of you, and especially those who might be great sight readers or have performed in ensembles.

I have been studying scores and notation manuals for the past 12 years, and I have never come upon the answers to these next questions about how players interpret the following dynamics notation. Perhaps someone with more (or better) experience could be of some help:

1) when there is a crescendo hairpin with no dynamic following it, does the volume stay louder even after the crescendo marking, or does the volume revert to the dynamic marking previous to the crescendo?

2) If the answer is based on "context" (which I believe unfortunately may be the case), then what are the rules based on different contexts?

3) If there are no rules regarding this, then how can any composer expect to communicate his music without also conducting the piece and wasting time on the podium explaining his intention?

I'm sure there will be more questions, but I have been seeing lots of hazy dynamic writing and was wondering about the standard way of interpreting these things, so I might improve my dynamics notation in Overture.
    http://hopkins.composerarts.com

Re: Question for composers: Dynamics Notation

Composers can be as general or as specific as they want to be. The < or > may be a subjective notation by the composer to indicate a slight breath. Perhaps also its a typo.

As for the responsibility on the podium...that is the CONDUCTORS job...not the composer...it's interpretive...and I don't think a waste of anyone's time. Someone might write:

Like a bird flying in a golden rain and milky hewe, while the space of time eluminates joy and peace on earth, like einstein cofeee...

or

Like the taste of water....