• Register
  • Help

Topic: Stylus RMX - How do I create fills and variations?

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb Stylus RMX - How do I create fills and variations?

Hello Everybody

Before I start - yes I am a newbie. So I will say sorry in advance if I am asking for something that has already been covered in this forum.

I have been looking for a "Drum solution" for my newly created Cubase-based PC office/studio and been looking at lots of reviews comments.

So........I have bought Stylus RMX last week - then went back and bought the SAGE Expanders because I was so impressed with the awesome sounds. Ok, Eric, I won't keep on about how good it is - I'm sure you can tell I'm extremely impressed!

But ..... I have a question to ask:

I am trying to use RMX to build traditional drum structures like intro, verse1, fill, chorus1, fill, verse2 and so on.

If I use the Backbeat expander then all is well because there are several elements in a suite that can be used for, say, verse chorus and bridge (for example 124 – Classic Rock) – it even specifically has grooves for fills- brilliant! But many of the suites (including lots of the core library) don’t have such structure (for example 118 - Beat Concrete) – indeed some suites only have one element (for example 63 – Electric Soul).

I’m confused what to do – do I have to construct my own chorus and fill variations for the suites that don’t contain them? The reason why I’m confused is I don’t understand why some suites are “full of elements” and some are not. What I’m really worried about is that I’m afraid that I may have missed the point somewhere. Maybe I am not using RMX for its intended purpose. I don’t really want to ALWAYS have to use “Slice Menu MIDI Mode” to construct patterns – I just want to (sometimes) use pre-arranged drums in my songs!