• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT: Wish me luck, Guys..

Share/Bookmark

OT: Wish me luck, Guys..

I don't think I've done a personal plea on here before but here goes....

In my day job I am a cost consultant, and was hired by my current company almost 8 years ago to head up a new project with a new client.

Over the years I built up the contract from dealing with about 10% of that client's work (other comapnies dealing with the remainder) to for the last two years dealing with 100% of all that client's projects nationally - and we're talking multi-millions of pound projects here.

After all that time and effort, they have re-tendered the works and it looks pretty much like the whole project is going to be civen to another company - who has no experience in this sector - who are about 10% cheaper than our company.

Luckliy this is no great shakes becasue we have just secured another couple of clients that more than make up for the loss of this contract.

So why do I need the luck?

Well I've got to go to a meeting this morning with my client - ostensibly to discuss all the operational issues that could be improved to make the new consultant's life a lot easier! So I've got to go and sit there knowing that they will only be my client for two more weeks, and convince them that I am trying to help them, but obviously I don't really want to do anything of the sort.

It'll be a fine balancing act of keeping them happy (you never know when you'll need an old client again in the future) but not giving away any of our trade secrets to help the new guys on the block.

Should be fun!

I'll let you know how it goes later on tonight.

Richard N.

Finale 2003 to 2007 ~ Garritan GPO, JABB & Strad ~ Sonar 6PE ~ Kontakt 2 ~ WinXP Home SP2

Athlon XP 2200 ~ 1.5 Gb RAM ~ M-Audio Sound Card ~ M-Audio 88ES MIDI keyboard ~ Evolution MK-461C