• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: A new host: A revolution in the making

Share/Bookmark

A new host: A revolution in the making

As some of you know, Overture is updating with new features:
    http://geniesoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=942

Assuming these work as advertised (and I have no knowledge either way), this could be the start of a 'revolution': Professional level computer music for the masses.

Right now, if you don't know anything about either music or computers, your ability to make high level music is severely limited...anyone looking at a Sonar screenshot (for random example) who knows nothing about music or computers would see nothing but a lot of confusing lines and boxes etc. Likewise for nearly any host.

But Overture is a notation program...this is how the vast majority of individuals see music...as notes on a page. High notes are high...low notes are low. And they all look (relatively) familiar.

And in its next iteration (due relatively soon AFAIK), Overture 4 will be a complete VSTi host.

For the non-musician, this is a godsend...putting a note down in a familiar way/place and hearing it immediately back. Furthermore, it offers (among a lot of other useful things) the non-musician Non-Metered Playback...which means (for people like me...which of course is MOST people)...individuals will no longer have to count out 4 (or 8 or whatever) beats per measure...it plays back as written in a given tempo without barlines! Do non-musicians even KNOW from barlines? (Insert humor here)

I understand this is a musician's forum, so a lot of people here obviously think like musicians (or computer musicians to be precise) and don't immediately see the need or benefits of such a program. And I understand that. The point is...most people aren't musicians! Furthermore...almost everyone would like to make music...Overture 4 (given everything I know) will make that much much easier for millions of people.