• Register
  • Help

Topic: Question about virtual instruments

Share/Bookmark

Question about virtual instruments

Hi folks. I am new to software samplers and software sequencers. I am about to buy a very powerful DAW which will run Sonar 4 PE and Gigastudio 3 orchestra. My question is: How will I handle virtual instruments (i.e. Scarbee Vintage Keyboards). Does giga support virtual instruments? Does Sonar? If I am using an external hardware sequencer, does that mean I won't be able to use something like that Scarbee library or does that library run itself without the need for another program? As you can see, I don't really know how all this fits together yet.

Thanks for any help you're willing to give me ......... Rob

Re: Question about virtual instruments

Quote Originally Posted by goldberg96
    Hi folks. I am new to software samplers and software sequencers. I am about to buy a very powerful DAW which will run Sonar 4 PE and Gigastudio 3 orchestra. My question is: How will I handle virtual instruments (i.e. Scarbee Vintage Keyboards). Does giga support virtual instruments? Does Sonar? If I am using an external hardware sequencer, does that mean I won't be able to use something like that Scarbee library or does that library run itself without the need for another program? As you can see, I don't really know how all this fits together yet.

Thanks for any help you're willing to give me ......... Rob
    Hi Rob,

You can use Scarbee Vintage Keyboards as DXI in Sonar .
    Thomas Hansen Skarbye
    Singer, Bass Player, Composer
    & Creative Director, SCARBEE

www.scarbee.com & www.myspace.com/scarbee

But will I then have a way to use an external midi source? My sequences won't be done in Sonar fir some time because they are currently all on the Triton Studio.

Sonar records both Midi data and Audio. I assume the Triton has both midi and Audio outputs
    Assuming you also have a sound card and a midi and audo input you can