• Register
  • Help

Topic: Cubase: How to record?

Share/Bookmark

Cubase: How to record?

Hey guys...after I have imported a few separate .wavs and can play them together perfectly, how do I know record or export or render this into one .wav/.mp3 etc file in Cubase? I see no option and I've read the cubase tutorial on garritan website but it does not say. I tried going to export but it has no option to do this, and when you click save as you cannot save as .wav etc. Thanks guys.

Re: Cubase: How to record?

I don't know about Cubase, but Cubasis (predecessor to Cubase) has an "Export Audio" button in the (master) track mixer, which does the job.

Yes its the same in Cubase. This has got to be Cubase's 'most asked question' because I don't think any help file or manual content tells you where to go to find this button. Intuition would lead you to the 'file...export' menu to no avail.

sorry guys im new to cubase, where is the master track mixer, is that the one rectangular strip that has rewind/forward/play/stop options? if not can someone plesae tell me how to bring the master mixer up and where that button is exactly because I still can't seem to find it

Mr. Eternal Rest7 (!),
    Which version of Cubase do you actually have?.. e.g.the "Export Audio" button is only present on the Master channel strip of Cubase VST (and Cubasis, apparently?), whereas it is not present on the Master channel strip(s) of SX/SL.
    (btw., the panel you are referring to in your last post is in fact called the Transport Bar.)
    Don't worry, there is no version of Cubase in which mixing down of audio is impossible , in most versions it is accessed (contrary to what forum member Low wrote) via the File menu >Export> "Audio Mixdown" (or similar wording). The only exception I can think of to this was Cubase VST 3.x, where the function was to be found inside the Audio menu (and also the button on the Master strip).

Quote Originally Posted by vic_france
    Mr. Eternal Rest7 (!),