• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Live solo piano setup w/ G4 Powerbook?

Share/Bookmark

Live solo piano setup w/ G4 Powerbook?

Greetings, newbie here, new to this world of 24 bit piano samples, but have been a full-time performing jazz pianist for about 13 years,playing for 37 years.

Just replaced my aging Kurzweil PC88 with a Roland FP-5 and being the dinosaur that I am technically, was unaware that far superior piano sounds were available for my Mac G4 Powerbook. So I bought the PMI Ipianos for Garageband and found it to be a far too watered down version of their 24 bit samples (16 bits, only three levels of velocity, etc.). Soooooo...

Now I need advice on software that will allow me to use the big samples during live performance. I see so many different names out there (Gigastudio, Logic, Kontakt, etc.)

I just want something fairly simple that will allow me to play using the most realistic piano samples available. I do a lot of solo work. Any help, suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I did a search on "live piano performance" but couldn't get a handle on what to do.

I will be taking the Powerbook to the gig along with the Roland FP-5, which has decent built-in speakers with audio input capability so I will run the sound output from the Mac back into the ketboard. 1.67 ghz, 512 ram, 80 gig harddrive.

THANKS!!!!

Re: Live solo piano setup w/ G4 Powerbook?

Quote Originally Posted by farmboy
    Greetings, newbie here, new to this world of 24 bit piano samples, but have been a full-time performing jazz pianist for about 13 years,playing for 37 years.

Just replaced my aging Kurzweil PC88 with a Roland FP-5 and being the dinosaur that I am technically, was unaware that far superior piano sounds were available for my Mac G4 Powerbook. So I bought the PMI Ipianos for Garageband and found it to be a far too watered down version of their 24 bit samples (16 bits, only three levels of velocity, etc.). Soooooo...