• Register
  • Help

Topic: Please help a noob get up and running

Share/Bookmark

Red face Please help a noob get up and running

I bought GS3 Orchestra a couple days ago from my local Musician's Friend. I came home and read over the documentation, and, I thought, followed the installation instructions carefully. Thing is, (and keep in mind that I'm a complete noob when it comes to both Giga AND sampling/sequencing) I never came across anything that told me when to insert all the "Content DVDs". I installed the program from the App disc, and I saw the onscreen choice of "Install GS3 Orchestra" and "Install Content", so I clicked on "Install Content" and it told me I needed to Browse for the content to install. Well, maybe I'm just a blockhead, but, how am I supposed to browse for the 5 DVDs of content to install, when I've got this App disc in the drive?

Well, I then thought that perhaps everybody just *Knows* that you're supposed to copy/paste all the content folders from the DVDs to your drive somewhere... Anyway, after I copied/pasted everything from the first three [content] discs (into the Tascam/Gigs folder), all of the instruments eventually showed up as choices in GS3, and I could play them from my keyboard, so, I thought I was in the clear; but, am I missing something, like, do these files have to be somehow Officially Installed or Activated by the App disc to function fully? If so, I sure don't see any of this "copy/paste, then Activate" info in the manual's setup section. It just says "you can install the content now, or later". Well that's a fat lot of help.

I'd really appreciate your bringing me up to speed on this. I'm going to hold off doing anything with the Vienna Giga Symphony discs, 'til I get your insights. Thanks.

Beanie (Vice President in charge of Asking Dumb Questions)

----------------------