• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: OT: A Tabla Correspondences or Workaround Needed

Share/Bookmark

OT: A Tabla Correspondences or Workaround Needed

Given the amazingly deep and diverse group that frequents these forums I have some hope that someone here can help me with an esoteric little challenge.

I am studying tabla and there seems to be a mismatch between the names of the boles (strokes) used in the book I'm studying and the names of the boles used in the sample set. There may or may not be some missing boles. For example there is no Tin in the sample set so how can I play Tintal? May be there it is there but called something different. Or maybe there is something that is close enough to at least approximate the various thekas. In any case...

The book I am studying lists the tabla boles as: NA, TIN, TIT, TA, TI, RI, THA, and TUN.

It lists the bayan boles as: GA, DHI, GHE, KA, THI, and (asperated) GA.

My sample set does not identify which drum plays the sample. It includes: DAH, DAM, GA, GE1, NAL, NAM, TA, NAL2, NAM2, TA2, TUN1, and TUN2.

There isn't much overlap. Are they using different names for any of the same sounds? Can anyone provide me with some correspondences or suggestions about where to look?

Thanks.

Chet

Re: OT: A Tabla Correspondences or Workaround Needed

First, what's your sample set, and from what developer? Also, equally important, what is your study source? I know if two, and one is correct (at least in the schools I am aware of. I studied Hindusthani Classical music for three years, initially tabla with Alla Rakha for a few weeks until circumstances and schedules changed and I was unable to continue, and later (and much longer,) I studied sarod with Ali Akbar Khan. My knowledge outside of this school and those I have on CD or record is woefully incomplete, but for the basic tabla bols and thekas I can speak fairly knowledgably.