• Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Music Careers

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb Music Careers

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    Hey, everybody!
    I'm a freshman in HS and was considering different career options in the music biz. I'm a good cellist, like to compose, and (I haven't tried it yet) developing sound libraries sounds like fun, too!

Could y'all tell me your level of education and current occupation?

Thanx,
    Chris

Re: Music Careers

CP,

Ha ha ha. It's not that your question is wrong it's just . . OH I don't know.

I actually temping right now. So probably not much education needed. BUT, I've been getting some amazing music done because I have desk job with a straight 9-5. I've gotten a couple of things on TV and have been regularly writing AND practicing music; something I haven't been or felt I've had time to do over the last few years.

How did I end up here you ask? Lets see. I have a bachelors of Music in a program called Music media and Industry. Pretty much it's a music degree with everything but a junior recital and then you take a slew of business courses and a few art management courses.

After college, I got a job with video production house with the job description of music supervisor, but I was kinda of a Jack of all trades: sound editing, voice over work, location sound mixing (EFP, ENG), and trying to sneak my occasional cue into a mix. Did that 5 years. I would say that I used a few of the legal things I learned in college on my job. Some of the basic music technology things I picked up in college help me rebuild the company's studio. I did use some of the counterpoint stuff I learned to write a few cues. Everyone I worked with had at least one degree in the arts or business degree.