• Register
  • Help

Topic: Do you guys trigger keyswitches live?

Share/Bookmark

Do you guys trigger keyswitches live?

I'm thinking of investing in a midi pedalboard so I can trigger keyswitches with my foot while playing a guitar controller. It's a little pricey so I want to make sure it'd be useful.

So I'm asking anyone who cares to answer how they generally approach this. Play it live and memorize the keyswitching as part of the performance, record the complete performance and tweak it later on? Or play the melody with a basic patch, record it and enter the keyswitches by hand later. The first way sounds more musical and intuitive but maybe it'd drive you nuts trying to memorize all those keyswitches for all those instruments. I don't know.

I understand you could do it either way but since I'm relatively new to this kind of idea I'm thinking there may be a gotcha that I hadn't thought about or come across yet.

Thanks
    Michael Telle
    Vagabond
    Bay Area

Re: Do you guys trigger keyswitches live?

Gotta bump. I'd really like an answer to this. What do you guys do in general? A guitar player doesn't have to answer. It could be anyone who uses keyswitches a lot.

Thanks
    Michael Telle
    Vagabond
    Bay Area

depends...

if its improvising, then the only way to do it is a pedal board or a pressure trigger set you mount on the gutiar.

if its a melody where you know where the KS's are going to happen, then why not jsut have them pre programmed in the sequencer

and about adding them aferward AMP will take care of that for you as the library of rules increases.
    Operation Mindcrime 2, in stores now.
    or go here...
    The Digital Bitphonic Orchestra
    -Ashif "Ash" Hakik