• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: "I am a composer"

Share/Bookmark

"I am a composer"

Two days ago, I turned 41. Officially middle-aged. I look back on my life, and I see that I haven't been living to my true purpose. I am a composer. I am here to write music.

I have a successful job in programming. I've always loved programming, but lately something has really been bothering me. Every ounce of energy I expend on my programming job is an ounce of energy I regret not making music. This thought, and the level of regret, has been steadily growing inside me over the last several months. I am now at a point where I know what I must do. I must find a way to take programming out of my life, and put music back in the position it should always have held.

I was recently talking to a friend about this, and I found myself saying these words: "I am a good programmer, but I am a great composer. I put myself up against any living composer today." I surprised myself with my own words. But for the first time in my life, I believed it. I've always considered myself a good composer, but something has happened to my work over the past two years, and especially while working on the score to Invision Film's "Running Deep." I have developed my artistry into something I am very proud of. I have found my own voice, and it is unique and strong.

I have been writing music for 30 years, and it's always been very important to me. Over that time, I have squeezed out just one to three short pieces each year. Sometimes more, sometimes less. For someone the local TV news was calling a "child prodigy" at 15, I sure haven't lived up to my potential.