• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Orchestral advice

Share/Bookmark

Red face Orchestral advice

Here's my first real attempt at an orchestral piece. It's in a fantasy style, or at least started that way.

www.mseaudio.com/fantasy1.mp3

It was supposed to be about twice this long and more filled out but I'm burned out on tweaking midi data at the moment and figured i'd ask for advice before finishing it. I'm a total noob at this so any advice related to mixing, composition, orchestration would be much appreciated

Thanks guys!
    -Matt Emery

Re: Orchestral advice

THis is a pretty cool piece. I liked it, and i dont really see anything wrong with it. Finish it and i think itll be good.

I think percussion needs different mixing. It sounds like it is in another hall.
    Blur it. Cut some high freq from samples and rev response so it will blend with other stuff better. And place it closer or other stuff farther.
    "Boom" sounds needs some stereo spread to be more impressive (tip: delay on such things does good job).
    I like the piece, actually.

Hey Matt,

It's a cool piece. I can't say much about the production because I was listening to it on some rubbishy speakers which probably didn't do it justice.

There's a lot of life in the performances, and I really like the way you handled the expression in the sustained strings.

As far as the composition goes, don't feel you have to make it twice the length because you decided that beforehand. Just end the piece when you feel like it has nothing more to say.

Steve

Very rich in orchestration ideas. One thing you might consider as a way to keep it moving musically, and to extend it, is to actually write down some of the rhythms and motives -- on music paper, with a pencil or pen. (Maybe you already do this?) Then you can begin to say to yourself which are important to the piece, and which are only momentary -- and reuse, vary, extend, the important ones.

Quote Originally Posted by gugliel