• Register
  • Help

Topic: good sound card

Share/Bookmark

good sound card

hey,

im pretty new to this whole scene, and would value any advice from the good people who lurk around the gerrtian forums.

im thinking of buying a new sound card, is there any model i shoud look out for in the 'under 300 euro' range?
    ""A woman should dress to attract attention. To attract the most attention, a woman should be either nude, or wearing something as expensive as getting her nude is going to be." -- P.J. O'Rourke

Re: good sound card

Quote Originally Posted by banquo
    hey,

im pretty new to this whole scene, and would value any advice from the good people who lurk around the gerrtian forums.

im thinking of buying a new sound card, is there any model i shoud look out for in the 'under 300 euro' range?
    I am just passing through but hey I'll answer this. A sound card is only as good as your A/D converters, your converters are only as good as the sound cards drivers. Most popular A/D Converters is Digi designs protools. Of course there ae others. in your price rang I would look at something like Emu 1212M , Deltas, and other cards.
    http://www.tweakheadz.com/soundcards...ome_studio.htm
    check out that guys page for starters.
    hope it helps.
    back to music.

Audiophile 2496 keeps a lot of people happy
    Core i7 920, Win 7 RC 64, Cubase 5 64, Omnisphere, Trilogy, RMX, EWQLSO Plat EW Choirs, GPO, Stradivari, Gofrilla, Absynth 4, Halion 3, Kontakt3, BFD2, VSL Strings, JBridge running all 32 bit apps well.

I use the EMU0404, and I've been happy with it so far. A note, though - if you decide to buy the 0404, you may want to buy EMU's Proteux X - for only about $50 more, you get a software synth/sampler with some sounds that lots of people really like AND the EMU0404 card.

Mark

Quote Originally Posted by ZeroZero
    Audiophile 2496 keeps a lot of people happy
    Also gives you the option of using Gigastudio. EMU doesn't offer GSIF drivers.