• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT: Some business questions

Share/Bookmark

OT: Some business questions

Hi. Most hired work I have done have been for games, which means I have little or no knowledge about TV contracts. I'm slated to score an animated TV series where I will provide the main titles, AND the score for each episode.

Now what kind of advice can you give me regarding the contract...

Things I would like:

- To own the theme (meaning other composers cant use it shoudl they want to hire someone else)

The music I have done has been complete sell out, but I understand its possible to be paid each time the series is aired etc - like for instance i'm sure Danny Elfman is still payed everytime the Simpsons is played.

So how would that look in the contract? What other stuff should I worry about or try get written into my contract?

Also I'm scoring the pilot first, which will be used to get funding. How does one make an "if-this-thing-gets-made" contract. Should it state what I am to be paid per episode, or should that be a new contract?

Re: OT: Some business questions

Find an agent to do your deal (one off)... unless you wanna get screwed in the butt.

KID

Sage advice Mr. Surf.

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

Ditto the advice. Get a lawyer or agent to cut this deal for you. Once you know the ropes, it's easier to cut your own deals, but you would need a lot of education, really fast, to do this one. My advice is pay for the lawyer (an entertainment attorney who knows how to get you paid).

Are you already an ASCAP or BMI member? This is how you'll get paid on the back end. BUT...you need to structure the deal properly so that money comes to you.

Basically, you want to keep every bit of ownership you can negotiate. License, rather than sell, the music. Some people will want part of the publishing, some will want all of it. Best possible outcome is that you keep it all.