• Register
  • Help

Topic: Lost GPO Instrument Track control in DP

Share/Bookmark

Lost GPO Instrument Track control in DP

Please excuse me if this is trivial or has already been covered in the forum: I am new to DP Instrument Tracks...and there is no reference whatsoever to them in the DP user guide.

I got GPO a little while ago (love it!), installed it, opened DP, played with the instruments, set up a template for a good chunk of orchestra, saved the project file, and quit.

Now I open the project file, all the GPO Instrument Tracks appear in the DP track window, but they don't play and I can't for the life of me figure out how to get the GPO/Kontakt instrument panel open again for any of these saved Instrument Tracks. I can add more GPO instruments, see their control panels, and play them, but the pre-existing Instrument Tracks remain illusive.

I know there must be some simple explanation -- it won't be the first time I feel like an idiot.

Re: Lost GPO Instrument Track control in DP

SPF,

Sorry you are having trouble with DP and GPO. What version of DP are you using? If you are using v. 4.5, check out chapter 66, "Virtual Instrument Plug-ins" on page 813 of the manual. If I remember correctly the manual in v. 4.1.2 has the same chapter in it (different page though).

You should also be using GPO as an audio unit plug-in. For me it seems to work best this way. Here are the steps for using GPO as an instrument in DP.

1. In the "Project" menu, select "Add Tracks">"Instrument Track">"Native Instruments: Garritan Personal Orchestra (Stereo)." If you don't see this in the menu you haven't installed GPO as an audio unit.

2. Now you will be given the Kontakt player in all of its glory. You should be able to then select the instruments and their midi channels.