• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Bass Traps... Do ya got 'em?

Share/Bookmark

Question Bass Traps... Do ya got 'em?

Bass trapping is not discussed often in these parts and I'm curious as to "why"... I just finished getting all the supplies I need to build the equivalent of the RealTrap bass traps. (Pine frames, Roxul 4lb 4" rockwool, light fabric, etc...)

I've been doing my homework for about 3 months now and have decided to build these because my small, hardwood floored "studio" has a muddy low end and flutter echoes. (I now have decent monitors so I know it's the room.) I guess my question is, for those of you who have built your own or bought RealTraps, are you pleased with them? What successes (or failures) should I expect from trapping by 9' by 11' room?
    I think a favorite gag in medival times was to sneak up behind a Knight and stick a "kick me" sign on his armor with a magnet.

Re: Bass Traps... Do ya got 'em?

I've been playing around with some bass traps in my room, and it's helping with the low-end definition.

But I don't know that I'd start with that. The first thing is to deaden the front of your room. That will get rid of the echoes and improve things 100%.

There's an old wives' tale about putting a mirror on the side walls; if you see the speakers, slap as much foam as possible on the sides, because you're going to hear comb-filtering. Not so. If you do hear that, it's coming from the same angle as the speakers, i.e. the front.

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

How high is the ceiling in this room?

Ck, thanks. I already have all the plan designs though, and I've been to most of those sites. I work with wood and this isn't much of an issue. I just want to know anybody's personal experiences and their opinions about using them. Thanks for the links though!