• Register
  • Help

Topic: Beginner's question: can you notate

Share/Bookmark

Question Beginner's question: can you notate

Hey guys,

First of all, I'm an amateur composer who just loves the sound quality of the GPO samples.

Now, my question is, can one notate using GPO? Is there a software in the package that allows you to create, from scratch, a MIDI file to be played by the GPO samples, or do you need another program, like Finale or Sibelius, to do that?

Thank you!

Re: Beginner's question: can you notate

Yup, like neo said, the GPO package comes with all of the basic tools you'd need for making music with GPO: the samples, Cubasis VST sequencer, ambience plug in and of course Overture SE (which I'm using as I type this). and Joseph Burrell has written a lovely tutorial for using GPO with Overture.
    Tim

You can notate to your heart's content!

Overture SE is an astounding addition to the GPO package and worth the minimal effort required to learn.

And in case your committment to notation is serious, you should know that Overture is coming out with an updated version relatively soon.

You can click here: http://geniesoft.com/forum/ for info/questions.

Good luck and have fun!

Thanks guys for the quick answers.

Here's another question that I've asked to dozens of people without once getting a definite answer.

I'm buying an iBook G4.

I want to then buy GPO and install it on the iBook.

Does the iBook support MIDI? Will it recognize it, is there a soundcard with MIDI capabilities or do I need to buy a separate, external sound card to use GPO and listen to my stuff being played by the sampler?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by imagegod
    You can notate to your heart's content!

Overture SE is an astounding addition to the GPO package and worth the minimal effort required to learn.

And in case your committment to notation is serious, you should know that Overture is coming out with an updated version relatively soon.