• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Has anyone been in the trenches on a TV series or major film?

Share/Bookmark

Has anyone been in the trenches on a TV series or major film?

Hi, my name is Jon and Iíve lurked here for a while and am in need of some opinions. It seems that many people here are composing for TV & films and thatís what Iíd like to do too. Iím completing my college degree next month and I want to change course from my degree studies. My degree is in music education and Iím currently at the end of my internship, teaching high school band and orchestra. Itís been mentioned that I could probably get a trial one year contract at the school where Iím teaching now, if I wanted to. Teaching has been a wonderful experience, but Iím getting cold feet thinking about signing a contract and committing my life to teaching, right out of college. Iíve always been a movie buff and analyzed soundtracks to films at least as much as the music Iíve studied. I wrote the music for a student film, which I conducted and recorded as well as performed in. This experience gave me the tingles compared to teaching, even though the film was, by all standards, down right bad. The question in my mind is, how do I get into the business. Iíve talked to counselors and compostition majors about this and the most common response has been that, ďyou have to be born into itĒ. I canít buy that. Iíve read this forum and many others and there has been a lot of suggestions about sending demos to directors and producers as well as making connections at the college level and trying to get student films to score. I can do that, but how does this translate to being in the business? I have a writer friend who has written scripts for films that have had theatrical releases and he says his world is all preproduction and he never has even met anyone on the post or music side of films, so he wouldnít know who to introduce me to.