• Register
  • Help

Topic: Vibrato Control

Share/Bookmark

Vibrato Control

Hi all,

First off, let me just say i love GPO and am amazed at the quality of sounds and control.

Since I am brand new to GPO, i haven't quiet figured out how to take solo sounds of cellos and violins and control how much vibrato they use. My first thought, was that vibrato should be controlled via aftertouch on my controller (press harder faster vibrato, press lighter less), but that is not the case. Matter of fact, i can't find one control feature in GPO that gives a person the ability to control vibrato. Am i missing something? Is there any way to control the amount of velocity of vibrato and increase or decrease it as i play?

Thanks,
    Daniel

Lightbulb Re: Vibrato Control

It DOES seem to be the case (hard "Aftertouch" = vibrato) on many of the instruments in the Update. (I'm sure that list is either [a] obvious or [b] documented somewhere.)

i hope this help ... KevinKauai

Re: Vibrato Control

Quote Originally Posted by KevinKauai
    It DOES seem to be the case (hard "Aftertouch" = vibrato) on many of the instruments in the Update. (I'm sure that list is either [a] obvious or [b] documented somewhere.)
    AFAIK: This is true for the woodwinds who have vibrato and non vibrato patches. The vibrato on the solo strings is real (recorded like this) and cannot be changed.
    rené

The update adds vibrato control to non-vibrato instruments in the winds. Vibrato control does not apply to instruments that use natural vibrato recorded in the samples. I've tried to program the artificial vibrato to minimize the usual problems with such things. With both intensity and speed available the user can minimize the artificial LFO problems when applying vibrato. Natural vibrato still sounds more realistic but it's nice to have the artificial option in many instruments.

Tom