• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Unsuccessful start and 'Device in use' error Message

Share/Bookmark

Unhappy Unsuccessful start and 'Device in use' error Message

I tried searching the forums for this prob without any luck.

I've just received GPO and installed it. I want to run Studio with Finale which I've been using for many years (presently 2004). After a few hours and virtually no success I downloaded the Beethoven 5th sample and Finale page to try to find what I was doing wrong. The sample played with its orchestral sounds but also with a piano blasting away over everything. I deleted the sample.

Now I can do even less with the prog. I can't even play back through my midiman connected to my external synth! Whenever I try to play using Studio host with Finale I get the error message: 'The specified device is already in use. Wait until it is free then try again.' There is nothing else running! I uninstalled Studio Host and reinstalled .. still the same error message! I have checked the Midi settings in Finale and in Studio and they all match up fine.

I have a P4 3.0 gig processor with 1 gig of memory and a 120 Gig hard drive.

Would appreciate any help. Feeling disappointed and fed up so far though having heard the fantastic sounds in the site demos before buying, I'm eager to get going with this.

Thanks.
    Michael
    Patience is a virtue, sensitivity is a gift

Re: Unsuccessful start and 'Device in use' error Message

Goto Control Panel -> Multimedia and check whether on the Audio Tab you have Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth enabled. If Yes, change to your Midi Output device.
    Hope this helps - If not, come back here.
    fmfgs

Hello fmfgs,

Thanks for your response. I have checked 'Audio' (Multimedia) in Control Panel and everything is fine there.