• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Which solo strings work best with GOS?

Share/Bookmark

Which solo strings work best with GOS?

I've been using GOS for several months now and love them. But my solo strings absolutely suck. I'm not even going to mention what library I'm using right now.

I'm going to be buying a new solo string library in about a month or so and I wondered if anyone here has any recommendations for a library that blends well with GOS.

The solo instruments will be used for film scores. Which means anything from a weeping violin/cello to fiddle playing. Mostly it'll be orchestral stuff though. I don't score to many westerns!

And my price range is about $200.

So far, it seems like there's only Kirk Hunter and Dan Dean. Isn't the Dan Dean Solo Strings lib kinda old now?

Thnaks for all your help!

Mark

Re: Which solo strings work best with GOS?

Don't really have recommendations but will share own experience: -- I use the solo strings from Advanced Orchestra; that's all I have. They are pretty flexible, with all the key-switched articulations, and for the most part pretty realistic, but kind of 'harsh' if that's the right word. You can hear the violin solo with GOS in my 'Romance' excerpt, and the violin and 'cello solo in my Piano Trio No. 1, and the string quartet in the two posted String Quartet movements -- all at the music page on www.soundclick.com , direct link here: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/guglielmomusic.htm

None of these were written to demonstrate the sounds, of course, they are just the music I write.

I'd welcome other points of view, haven't heard much about solo strings lately, either, and am heading toward more buying in the next weeks and months ...

Guglielmo

Hey Guglielmo

I'm actually using the same solo library! lol!