• Register
  • Help

Topic: Brand New to All of This, Sustain Pedal Problem

Share/Bookmark

Brand New to All of This, Sustain Pedal Problem

Hi,

My GPO package came last night, and this is my first attempt at taking a software-based approach to composing music. All I've ever done before is play an arranger midi keyboard (PSR540), record the sounds as wav in my PC, and use a multitrack wav editor to render a final product to disk.

I've read the manual, and opened GPO, the Studio Host, and Overture SE, set my keyboard as a controller- connected via serial port- and have been sampling the beautiful sounds of the GPO Library.

But I haven't been able to get the sustain pedal to work at all, no matter how I try to tweak the options. I've been reading threads about work-arounds to get both a sustain and a legato option in seperate instances, but this is way over my head right now. I'm just trying to get a simple sustain action on the piano.

Am I just clueless, or is my PSR keyboard simply an inadequate controller for the GPO? (Besides the fact that it doesn't have a mod-wheel, just a pitch-bend.) Any help or advice would be appreciated. I need to get a basic sound up and running before I even THINK about full-blown sequencers, templates, etc., so I can start thinking about music again.

Thanks in advance,

Quasar

Smile Re: Brand New to All of This, Sustain Pedal Problem

Hi and welcome to the forum!
    May I ask, did you click on "options" on the kontakt player? If not, open the options and look for "Sustain / Sustenuto Pedal Mode" In the drop down window you will see your pedal "options". I have mine set at "Normal Sustain / Sustenuto Operation Plus Midi Switch". There are other options in the same window.
    Hope I've helped.
    Nice to have you on board and looking forward to hearing your music soon.
    Styxx

Re: Brand New to All of This, Sustain Pedal Problem

Thanks for both your advice, and the warm welcome.